Contact Us

The public may call (212) 708-9400 or email info@moma.org.

Department of Communications contact information for media only regarding MoMA exhibitions, programs, and news:

Department of Communications
The Museum of Modern Art
11 West 53 Street
New York, NY 10019
(212) 708-9431 or pressoffice@moma.org

Kim Mitchell, Chief Communications Officer
(212) 333-6594 or kim_mitchell@moma.org

Margaret Doyle, Director
(212) 408-6400 or margaret_doyle@moma.org

Paul Jackson, Communications Manager
(212) 708-9593 or paul_jackson@moma.org 

Sara Beth Walsh, Senior Publicist
(212) 708-9747 or sarabeth_walsh@moma.org

Meg Montgoris, Publicist
(212) 708-9757 or meg_montgoris@moma.org

Janelle Grace, Publicity Coordinator
(212) 708-9752 or janelle_grace@moma.org

Tina Adlaf Hlebec, Assistant to the Chief Communications Officer
(212) 708-9431 or tina_adlafhlebec@moma.org 

MoMA PS1 press contact: Allison Rodman, Director of Communications, MoMA PS1, (718) 786-3139 or allison_rodman@moma.org 

MoMA’s Publications press contact: Hannah Kim, Marketing and Book Development Coordinator, Publications Department,  (212) 708-9449 or hannah_kim@moma.org.

MoMA Stores press contact: Angela Bilog, Marketing and Communications Manager, Retail, (212) 708-9423 or angela_bilog@moma.org

The Modern Restaurant, Cafe 2, or Terrace 5 press contacts:
Rebecca Carlisle, PR & Marketing Manager, Union Square Hospitality Group, (646) 747-6648 or rcarlisle@ushgnyc.com
Helen Goodman, PR & Marketing Coordinator, Union Square Hospitality Group, (646) 747-7194 or hgoodman@ushgnyc.com

For information and reservations, call (212) 333-1220 or visit themodernnyc.com.

For information about M. Wells Dinette at MoMA PS1: (718) 786-1800 or write@mwellsdiner.com

 

FAQs

How can I reproduce works from MoMA´s collection for editorial publication?
Images from MoMA´s exhibitions and other programs or news announcements are available by registering for Press Access. These images are available for non-commercial editorial press usage in conjunction with the Museum´s exhibitions, activities, and programs.

If you need to reproduce works from the MoMA collection for other purposes, The Museum of Modern Art has entrusted the licensing of images of works of art in its collections to Scala Archives of Florence, Italy. All requests to reproduce works of art from MoMA’s collection within North America (Canada, U.S., Mexico) should be addressed directly to Art Resource, Scala’s New York representative, at 536 Broadway, New York, New York 10012. Telephone (212) 505-8700; fax (212) 505-2053, requests@artres.com, www.artres.com. Requests from all other geographical locations should be addressed directly to Scala Group S.p.A., 62, via Chiantigiana, 50011 Antella/Firenze, Italy. Telephone 39 055 6233 200; fax: 39 055 641124, firenze@scalarchives.com, scalarchives.it.

Can I film or photograph in the Museum?
Editorial film and photo shoot requests must be approved by the Department of Communications before they can be scheduled. Due to the volume of filming and photo shoot requests, it takes approximately two weeks to process each request. News coverage that focuses on MoMA and its collection is given priority. 

MoMA is not available for advertising shoots, fashion shoots, or unscripted television programs. As a general rule, non-MoMA spokespersons are not permitted to be interviewed, filmed, or photographed inside MoMA.

Film and photo shoots are generally scheduled to take place on weekday mornings between 9:00 a.m. and 10:30 a.m., before the Museum is open to the public. Other accommodations may be scheduled, depending on availability.

The Communications Department must be notified in advance of the use of additional lights and a MoMA engineer must be present when additional lights are used. Expenses incurred for security and engineering personnel will be charged to the production company.

For shoots conducted during public hours on days that the Museum is open, tripods, freestanding lights, cables, and boom mikes may not be used. 

The sidewalks on West 53rd and West 54th Streets are city property and permission is not required by the Museum to film from those locations. The Mayor´s Office of Film, Theater & Broadcasting assesses all requests to shoot on city property.

Download Photo and Film Shoot Request Form (pdf)

Filming/Photography Guidelines (pdf)

Student requests:
Due to limited staff resources, the Department of Communications is unable to accommodate student requests. Students should contact the MoMA Library or Archives. Please visit MoMA´s Research Resources for more detailed information.