Go to moma.org

Ford Foundation Scholars in Residence Program

The Museum of Modern Art

The Ford Foundation Scholars in Residence at The Museum of Modern Art is a program that invites three midcareer or established professionals with demonstrated records of achievement to join the Museum for a one-year term to pursue independent research that contributes to new understandings of modern and contemporary art. Candidates for these new residencies will be thought leaders whose work focuses on historically underrepresented artists, moments, movements, and geographies, or offers new perspectives on art-historical topics. In addition to conducting independent research, each scholar-in-residence will join staff across the Museum to participate in the conversations that set the course for MoMA’s collection presentations, exhibitions, acquisitions, scholarship, and programming. During their one-year terms, scholars will have a generous stipend and open access to the Museum’s resources, research collections, and networks, along with dedicated support in navigating them.

The inaugural cohort of Ford Foundation Scholars in Residence includes Brent Hayes Edwards, Joan Kee, and Robin Coste Lewis, who will join the Museum in September 2022.

For detailed information, please see https://www.moma.org/research-and-learning/ford-foundation-scholars



Important: By downloading images you are agreeing to the following permissions: Images are provided exclusively to the press, and only for purposes of publicity of The Museum of Modern Art's and MoMA PS1's current and upcoming exhibitions, programs, and news announcements. Permission to use images is granted only to the extent of the Museum's and MoMA PS1's ownership rights relating to those images—the responsibility for any additional permissions remains solely with the party reproducing the images. The images must be accompanied by the credit line and any copyright information as it appears above, and the party reproducing the images must not distort or mutilate the images.

Brent Hayes Edwards

Joan Kee

Robin Coste Lewis